Studying at Rennes 1

Université de Rennes 1 is amongst the twelve main universities in France. It is a multidisciplinary university which is famous for its excellence and dynamic research. It has a wide variety of training possibilities.

Students in a lecture theatre
  1. Licence, Master and Doctorate or "LMD"
  2. Other national diplomas
  3. Diplômes d'université (DU) and Diplômes inter-universitaires (DIU)
  4. Preparation for civil service examinations
  5. Summer schools
  6. Sport and culture

Licence, Master and Doctorate or "LMD"

Higher education in France is divided into three levels: Licence, Master and Doctorate.
The LMD structure is used throughout the EU, facilitating student mobility in Europe and around the world.

The Licence lasts three years and consists of basic multidisciplinary training leading to a degree, or Licence, and allowing you to go on to study for a Master's degree.

A Licence is made up of 6 semesters. Each semester is divided into teaching units known as unités d’enseignement or UE. When your UE has been validated, the university allocates credits or ECTS (European credit transfer system) credits. One semester is equal to 30 credits. These credits can be accumulated and transferred. So they are taken into account when moving from one European institution to another.

Teaching, and each UE in fact, consists of cours magistraux (lectures) and practical courses in smaller groups known as Travaux Dirigés or "TD" and Travaux Pratiques or "TP".

The Master lasts two years, or 4 semesters (120 ECTS), and consists of in-depth studies, either basic, professional or specialized and leads to a Master's degree.

Students with a Master's degree can start the third cycle of university studies, a Doctorate. The Doctorate is awarded after a minimum of three years through the presentation of a thesis or a research project. Doctoral students work within research teams or in laboratories, generally connected with the national research organizations.


Other national diplomas

At Université de Rennes 1, you can also prepare the following diplomas:

  • Diplôme universitaire de technologies (DUT)
  • Diplômes du secteur de la santé
  • Diplômes d’ingénieurs
  • Habilitation à diriger des recherches (HDR)
  • Diplôme d’accès aux études universitaires (DAEU)

Diplômes d'université (DU) and Diplômes inter-universitaires (DIU)

As well as national degrees, the university offers some Diplômes d'université (DU) and Diplômes inter-universitaires (DIU), which are specific diplomas created by the Université de Rennes 1. They are a major element of further training, particularly in health care professions. They also make it easier to explore new training areas and can later be turned into professional licences or Masters.

Preparation for civil service examinations

The university also helps students prepare several civil service examinations in teaching, in partnership with the IUFM de Bretagne (Capes, Capet, agrégation), in law and in public administration. The Université de Rennes 1 is nationally recognised for its excellent success rate in this domaine.

Summer schools

Sport and culture

Le Diapason, Campus Beaulieu

The Université de Rennes 1 has a dynamic cultural department whose role is to establish an artistic and cultural policy in the heart of the university, to bring technical and scientific culture to a wide public and to facilitate access to culture for its students.

This cultural activity is centred round Le Diapason, a culture and sports complex on the Beaulieu Campus run by the cultural department and housing a theatre with 700 seats, an exhibition space, a cafeteria, recording studios and several sports rooms.

The university sports associations are open to all students immediately after their enrolment.


Last updated: AMMon, 05 Oct 2020 10:48:37 +0200Mon, 05 Oct 2020 10:48:37 +0200am20