Courses at Rennes 1

Université de Rennes 1 offers a wide choice of courses adapted to your professional goals.

Students chatting before a lecture © Gaëlle Le Page
  1. What you can study
  2. LMD
  3. Licence
  4. Master
  5. Doctorate
  6. A wide choice of training options

What you can study

Université de Rennes 1 has three main areas of study:

  • Science and technology
  • Health
  • Human and social sciences


Licence, master and doctorate are the three levels in the French Higher Education system otherwise known as LMD. A similar structure can be found throughout the European Union, facilitating student mobility in Europe and around the world.


The licence (bachelor's degree) lasts for three years and consists of basic multidisciplinary training leading to a degree, which then allows students to go on to study for a master’s degree.

A licence is made up of 6 semesters. Each semester is divided into credits known as unités d’enseignement or UE's. When UE's have been validated, students gain ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) credits. One semester is equal to 30 credits. These credits are taken into account when moving from one European institution to another.

Teaching in French universities takes the form of lectures (large groups of students in lecture theatres) and practical courses in smaller groups known as Travaux Dirigés or TD and Travaux Pratiques or TP.


The master lasts for two years, or 4 semesters, and consists of in-depth studies, either basic, professional or specialised, leading to a master's degree.


Students with a master's degree can start the third cycle of university studies, a doctorate. The doctorate is awarded after a minimum of three years research and following the presentation of a thesis or dissertation. Doctoral students work within research teams or in laboratories, which are generally connected to a national research organisation.

A wide choice of training options

As well as the LMD curriculum, Université de Rennes 1 also prepares national diplomas such as the DUT (Diplôme universitaire de technologies) and, amongst others, diplomas in healthcare and engineering. It has also created its own specific diplomas: DU (Diplômes universitaires) and DIU (Diplômes inter-universitaires).

In addition, the university helps students prepare for several civil service examinations in teaching (Capes, Capet, Agrégation), in partnership with the ESPE de Bretagne (École supérieure du professorat et de l’éducation), in law and in public administration.

Last updated: AMMon, 05 Oct 2020 10:48:38 +0200Mon, 05 Oct 2020 10:48:38 +0200am20