Nanomachines: Two conferences given by Ben Feringa, winner of the Nobel prize in chemistry 2016

The 2016 Nobel prize in chemistry went to three chemists, Ben Feringa, Jean-Pierre Sauvage and James Fraser Stoddart, for their work on molecular machines. Ben Feringa, from the Netherlands, will be speaking on 9th and 12th June in Rennes at the Beaulieu campus of Université de Rennes 1. He will present his research in the context of the annual conferences organised by the Institut des Sciences Chimiques de Rennes (ISCR) and the 16th International Conference on Chiroptical Spectroscopy, organised by the École nationale supérieure de chimie de Rennes.

Ben Feringa
  1. An extraordinary scientific career
  2. Practical information

The Nobel prize in chemistry 2016 was awarded to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, James Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa for their design and production of molecular machines. They developed molecules with controllable movements, which can perform a task when energy is added.

  • The first step towards a molecular machine was taken by Jean-Pierre Sauvage in 1983, when he succeeded in linking two ring-shaped molecules together to form a chain, called a catenane. Normally, molecules are joined by strong covalent bonds in which the atoms share electrons, but in the chain they were instead linked by a freer mechanical bond. For a machine to be able to perform a task it must consist of parts that can move relative to each other. The two interlocked rings fulfilled exactly this requirement.
  • The second step was taken by Fraser Stoddart in 1991, when he developed a rotaxane. He threaded a molecular ring onto a thin molecular axle and demonstrated that the ring was able to move along the axle. Among his developments based on rotaxanes are a molecular lift, a molecular muscle and a molecule-based computer chip.
  • Bernard Feringa was the first person to develop a molecular motor; in 1999 he got a molecular rotor blade to spin continually in the same direction. Using molecular motors, he has rotated a glass cylinder that is 10,000 times bigger than the motor and also designed a nanocar.

An extraordinary scientific career

Ben Feringa obtained his PhD degree at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands under the guidance of Professor Hans Wynberg. After working as a research scientist at Shell in the Netherlands and at the Shell Biosciences Centre in the UK, he was appointed lecturer and in 1988 full professor at the University of Groningen and named the Jacobus H. van't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences in 2004. He was elected Foreign Honory member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is member and vice-president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. In 2008 he was appointed Academy Professor and was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands.

Feringa's research has been recognized with a number of awards including the Koerber European Science Award (2003), the Spinoza Award (2004), the P.relog gold medal (2005), the Norrish Award of the ACS (2007), the Paracelsus medal (2008), the Chirality medal (2009),the RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award (2011), Humboldt Award (2012), the Grand Prix Scientifique Cino del Duca (French Academy 2012), the Marie Curie medal (2013), the Nagoya Gold Medal (2013), the Chemistry for the Future Solvay prize (2015) Nobel prize in Chemisty (2016) and the Tetrahedron prize (2017).

Practical information

Ben Feringa will be speaking on 9th June in the context of the ISCR annual conferences (Louis Antoine auditorium, building 2A, Beaulieu campus) and on 12th June in the context of the 16th International Conference on Chiroptical Spectroscopy (Auditorium A at the École nationale supérieure de chimie de Rennes).